Police claim that some Georgian drivers are not aware of the state’s traffic laws, so click here to learn more. Therefore, if you are stopped and do not know why, you might have violated one of the following laws, according to police, which many drivers do not seem to be aware of:
1. Exceeding the speed limit can result in a traffic stop.
The “Slowpoke Law” in Georgia mandates that cars in the left lane of a highway, interstate, or motorway move over as a quicker vehicle approaches. You cannot continue driving in the left lane even if you exceed the speed limit.
2. In order to accommodate emergency vehicles and garbage trucks, a motorist must cross one lane.
In Georgia, there is a law known as the “Move-Over Law.” vehicles are required to switch lanes, and most need vehicles responding to emergencies, such as police cars, ambulances, and garbage trucks, parked along the road.
3. Using the center lane to join traffic is not allowed.
Only left turns may be made in the middle lane. Unless they are 300 feet or less from where they wish to turn, The center lane is not for drivers to use to make a turn.
4. Headphones are not permitted when driving.
Wearing headphones in both ears is prohibited. However, one ear can accommodate headphones.
5. The tag on your car ought to be plainly visible.
The use of unauthorized frames or covers to conceal license plates is prohibited. Ensure the tag is not unlawfully obscured before purchasing a tag frame or cover.
6. If it is raining, switch on your headlights.
In times of rain, individuals frequently rely on their automated lighting; however, these do not also switch on the backlights. When it rains, you must turn on your front and rear lights.
7. Texting while in# a moving vehicle, even one that is stopped, is prohibited in addition to texting while driving.
Drivers should also refrain from texting at a traffic light because the law does not specify whether the car must move. Contact a lawyer if you have been injured in a car accident.
Georgia’s Impeding the Flow of Traffic Penalty
A conviction for obstructing traffic will result in a fine of up to $1,000 and the addition of 3 points to your license. A score of four or more points will automatically result in the suspension of your license if you are under the age of 21. A license suspension is possible for drivers over 21 who have accumulated fifteen or more points. Additionally, you should anticipate a rise in your auto insurance prices.